Extrêmes

giphy

“Take time to be thankful for everything that you have, you can always have more but also have less”

I got to travel India.

New Delhi, Jaipur & Agra (planes, trains & automobiles)

Bucket list: Check

Excitement & fear for not having the stomach or the strength.

I wanted to see the Taj Mahal, soak up the culture and eat lots of Indian food.

I flew with my brothers to New Delhi 2 weeks ago.

Photographer’s paradise;

Faces & fascination

img_2447

Beauty & the beast

dsc_5039

The crowds & the forgotten

unnamed-1

Poverty & palaces

poverty-palaces

Dirt & diamonds

dsc_5094

Cardboard boxes & castles

unnamed

Food & none

food-none

India is everything & not.

img_4011

Loud & lovely

dsc_5080

Oppressive & kind

dsc_5091

True & unethical

img_2446

India is overwhelming, India is extreme. India is a sensory overload of unfamiliar smells, strange sights & constant noise.

India is pure & indescribable; beauty & darkness on one plate.

India is chaos on all fronts,  yet people seem to have accepted their fate.

Extreme wealth or extreme poverty

Survival.

Day in day out

No choice

1

3

2

6It has been 2 weeks now but I still go to sleep with images of children playing in piles of trash because they had no where else to go, I still see animals everywhere eating that same trash because there was no green grass in sight.img_2456

I still wake up to children begging for something to eat & watching people bath and do their laundry in the polluted water running through their cities.

dsc_4967

img_2420

5

dsc_5076

dsc_5054

I travelled India; 9 days of extreme beauty & intense pain, a cultural rollercoaster from the beginning until the end.

unnamed

I fell in love with something I can’t describe.

dsc_5012

dsc_5050

dsc_5021

dsc_5022

dsc_4901

dsc_5098

dsc_4940

dsc_4868

In order to understand, you have to feel, live & see India through your own eyes.

Mine cried every day.

IMG_2444.jpg

7 thoughts on “Extrêmes

Leave a comment